Croagh Patrick '99 - Round 1 in the Connaught Championships

Report by Douglas Barry

An untroubled outing up and down Ireland's holy mountain Croagh Patrick for John Lenihan saw him carry off the Irish Championship for 1999. The Riocht runner pushed the pace up the ascent, but backed off and descended at an easy pace to come home in a time of 46 minutes 20 seconds. The conditions were ideal for a record attempt, but the small field contained nobody likely to push the Riocht runner. Not one other international quality male runner turned up. Whether it's the distance away from Dublin or the fearsome reputation of the rocky route....

Anyway, the switch of date to the weekend of the annual pilgrimage did not have the intended effect of drawing in a bigger entry: the race clashed with the peak holiday season and the National Track champs. However, the date did have one beneficial consequence as the number of international TV crews on the Reek, or hovering about in helicopters, ensured the Kerryman's technique will reach a bigger audience! In addition the number of spectators was high. However it's back to June next year...

Paul Mahon got the better of a battle with the fast descending Tommy Joe Whyte (Tuam) to take second with the women's race going to Irish Trail champ Noreen McManamon (Mayo AC) after a strong climb to the summit. However, while Noreen was well ahead of French runner Annaig Le Pichon, she was not near Majella Diskin's record. The only record to fall on the race was the over 50 men's. Ercus Stewart got the better of Bernard Collins with a flying descent to take 5 minutes off Brian Byrne's old record. Vivian O'Gorman won the over 40 men's category.

Croagh Patrick

Race 4 in Irish Championship 24/07/99

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time	
1	1	John Lenihan	Riocht		46.20	
2	278	Paul Mahon			54.38	
3	38	Tommy Joe Whyte	Tuam AC		55.34	
4	458	David O'Callaghan	Eagle		60.22	
5	161	Vivian O'Gorman		M40	62.25	
6	186	Ercus Stewart	Glenasmole	M50	63.01	Rec
7	377	Mark Donlon	DSD	M17	63.11	
8	372	Noreen McManamon	Mayo AC	F	63.34	
9	404	Bernard Collins	Limerick AC	M50	66.18	
10	37	Martin Cortvriend	Macclesfield Harriers	M40	67.11	
11	40	Paul Healy			68.00	

12	192	Brian Byrne		M50	70.02	
13	41	Lorcán Ó hAlmhaim	UCDO	M20	70.05	
14	179	Padraic Hamrock	AIB		70.26	
15	33	Neil Cowley	Mercia Fell Runners	M40	70.44	
16	36	Paddy Syron		M40	72.42	
17	35	Bill Reilly	White Mountain Milers	M50	73.01	
18	42	Martin Crehan	Mayo A.C.		74.34	
19	337	Kenneth Rice	AIB		75.18	
20	43	Annaig Le Pichon	Athlethix	F	76.08	
21	34	Ultan Mulvihill			83.06	
22	297	Frank Murphy	Glenasmole	M40	83.24	
23	193	Julie Hilliard		F40	89.20	
24	143	James Higgins	AIB		96.54	
25	39	Frank Harman	Ballina Harriers	M60	103.40	
		Short Course				
1	309	John Stewart	Glenasmole	M14	44.00	